My Interactive Poster Evaluation

During the creation of my interactive poster, I ran into a few difficulties following my initial plan; which was to have my main picture scroll up and down, presenting the information on screen depending on the buttons clicked. However, I soon realised I didn’t know how to enable certain information to remain hidden or to appear, depending on the route taken by the viewer of my poster. This lead to me having to use functions that were not taught in the lectures and resulted in some individual research in hopes of finding a function which enabled me to accomplish what I had intended. Luckily, there was such a function which allowed me to see the plan through to the end.

The function which allowed me to do this and is the foundation of my poster is the string which determines whether a movie object is visible or not, depending on the buttons clicked;

examplebutton.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, eventname);
function eventname(e:MouseEvent):void {
mymovie.visible=true;
}
//or ‘false’ in place of ‘true’

After having found this out, the rest of the process was easier as I was able to progress. Also, my first draft was said to be too small, and I had forgotten to source an image I had used, resulting is me having to find another image from the internet as I couldn’t find the source of my previous image. This made it convenient for me to enlarge the main picture overall as I had to make one anew anyway. Overall, my interactive poster includes sound, flash animations, buttons, pictures and animated video clips, and so I am satisfied with my overall piece.

Leave a comment